Print’s thick skin

beano89[1]I’ve just bought the September issue of Esquire, complete with fabric hardback cover, and everyone else should, too, because it’s ace.

I’ve been in a swimming pool for two weeks, so I had no idea NatMags was doing this until I saw a tweet by my friend Tom. Then I saw it on the shelf in Sainsbury’s, and swiftly added £4.25 to my bill.

It looks and feels special, a proper collectors’ item, and, for me, conjures up the nostalgia of buying Beano and Dandy annuals each year on Boxing Day.

An exercise like this could quite easily appear gimmicky, but this isn’t. It has gravitas, feels classy, and as an illustration of why print should continue to exist alongside the fast-paced buzzes and bleeps of the internet it excels.

Leave a Reply

